Administration

Sarah Salhi

Administrative Assistant

sarah.salhi@kaust.edu.sa

Rose Gregorio

Marketing and Communications Assistant

rose.gregorio@kaust.edu.sa

Thasneem Fathima Kamarudeen

Administrative Assistant to Stefan Arold

thasneem.kamarudeen@kaust.edu.sa

Center Faculty

Vladimir Bajic

Professor, Applied Mathematics and Computational Science

Dr. Bajic’s primary interest is in facilitating biological discoveries using bioinformatics and data modelling. Specialisation: machine learning in bioinformatics, knowledge-, text- & data-mining, diagnostic biomarkers, drug repositioning, gene regulation.

vladimir.bajic@kaust.edu.sa

Takashi Gojobori

Distinguished Professor, Bioscience

Read Wikipedia

takashi.gojobori@kaust.edu.sa

Stefan T. Arold

Associate Professor, Bioscience

Professor Arold research interests are focused on integrative structural biology based on hybrid approaches

stefan.arold@kaust.edu.sa

Xin Gao

Associate Professor, Computer Science

Dr. Gao’s research interest is to design algorithms and develop machine-learning techniques to solve key problems in structural biology and synthetic biology.

xin.gao@kaust.edu.sa

Robert Hoehndorf

Assistant Professor

Dr Hoehndorf is interested in biomedical ontology, knowledge representation, semantic integration, semantic interoperability and phenotype informatics.

robert.hoehndorf@kaust.edu.sa

 
Affiliated Faculty

Charlotte A. Hauser

Professor, Bioscience

Research interests align at the interfaces between chemistry, biomedicine, bioengineering and nanotechnology. Focus is on the development of platform technologies, using smart nanomaterials for regenerative, biomedical and environmental applications

charlotte.hauser@kaust.edu.sa

 
Research Scientists

Dr John AC Archer

Principal Research Scientist

Microbiology, biotechnology, functional genomics, synthetic biology. Particular interest in cell factories and industrial applications.

john.archer@kaust.edu.sa

 
Vladimir Bajic group

Dr Magbubah Essack

Research Scientist

Environmental and food chain microbiology, biotechnology and bioinformatics.

magbubah.essack@kaust.edu.sa

 
Xin Gao group

Dr Hiroyuki Kuwahara

Research Scientist (supervisor Xin Gao)

Metabolic pathway simulation and analysis.

Hiroyuki.Kuwahara@kaust.edu.sa

 
Dr John AC Archer group
 
Takashi Gojobori group

Dr Katsuhiko Mineta

Senior Research Scientist

Environmental bioinformatics, Metagenomics, Functional genomics and transcriptomics, Evolution of brain and sensory organs, Population genomics, and their applications.

katsuhiko.mineta@kaust.edu.sa

Dr Hayedeh Behzad

Research Scientist

Airborne Metagenomics, Cell Signaling, Cancer Research, Translation research, Microbiology

hayedeh.behzad@kaust.edu.sa

Dr Rimantas Kodzius

Research scientist

Environment and Ecology research with the focus on sensory organs. Microfluidic adaptation to single cell analysis and genome engineering (synthetic biology). Omics with weight on genomics and transcriptomics, especially non-coding RNA.

rimantas.kodzius@kaust.edu.sa

 
Professional Staff

Dr Boris Jankovic

Senior Computational Scientist

Machine learning applications in bioinformatics, modelling complex systems, statistical modelling, complexity theory.

boris.jankovic@kaust.edu.sa

Dr Roberto Incitti

Senior Software Dev/Bioinformatician

roberto.incitti@kaust.edu.sa

Dr Aleksandar Radovanovic

Senior Computational Scientist

Big Data text and data mining, knowledge extraction, and quantum computing in Bioinformatics.

aleksandar.radovanovic@kaust.edu.sa

Dr Intikhab Alam

Senior Software Dev/Bioinformatician

Development of bioinformatics tools and resources for metagenomics, single cell genomics, functional annotation of genomes.

intikhab.alam@kaust.edu.sa

Craig Kapfer

Senior Computational Scientist

craig.kapfer@kaust.edu.sa

Allan A. Kamau

Specialist Database Administrator

allan.kamau@kaust.edu.sa

Dr Mahmut Uludag

Senior Software Dev/Bioinformatician

mahmut.uludag@kaust.edu.sa

John Burton Hanks

Senior Systems Administrator

john.hanks@kaust.edu.sa

Technical Staff
Vladimir Bajic group
 
Dr John AC Archer group

Suhaiza Ahmad Jamhor

Research Technician (supervisor John Archer)

suhaiza.jamhor@kaust.edu.sa

 
Takashi Gojobori group
 
Postdoctoral Fellows
Vladimir Bajic group

Adil Salhi

Postdoctoral Fellow

Research interest: HPC, Databases, Knowledge mining

Current focus: Efficient knowledge mining based on vocabularies

adil.salhi@kaust.edu.sa

Salim Bougouffa

Postdoctoral Fellow

Position: SABIC Postdoctoral Fellow

Research interest: Bioinformatics

Current focus: Osmoprotectant producing microbial pathways. DB of functional characteristics of microbial collection.

salim.bougouffa@kaust.edu.sa

 
Takashi Gojobori group
 
Robert Hoehndorf group
 
Stefan T. Arold group
Ph.D. Students
Vladimir Bajic group

Arturo Magana Mora

PhD Student

Topic: Optimization of decision trees

arturo.mora@kaust.edu.sa

Arwa Bin Raies

PhD Student

Topic: Prediction of toxicity of chemical compounds

arwa.binres@kaust.edu.sa

Ghofran Othoum

PhD Student

Topic: Computational modeling and design of pathways for efficient microbial cell factories

ghofran.othoum@kaust.edu.sa

Manal Kalkatawi

PhD Student

Topic: Recognition of genomic signals

manal.kalkatawi@kaust.edu.sa

Olaa Motwalli

PhD Student

Topic: Modeling and optimization of fatty acids biosynthetic pathways in cyanobacteria

olaa.motwalli@kaust.edu.sa

Othman Soufan

PhD Student: Co-supervisor Panos Kalnis

othman.soufan@kaust.edu.sa

Soha Al-Amoudi

PhD Student: Co-supervisor Feras Lafi

soha.amoudi@kaust.edu.sa

Tanvir Alam

PhD Student

Topic: Non-coding RNA genes and their regulation

tanvir.alam@kaust.edu.sa

Xin Gao group

Ramzan Umarov

PhD Student

He was PhD student of Prof Victor Solovyev and moved to join research team of Prof Mikhail Moshkov.

ramzan.umarov@kaust.edu.sa

Dr John AC Archer group

Moataz Afeef

PhD Student: Co-supervisor Vladimir Bajic

Supported by ARAMCO

moataz.afeef@kaust.edu.sa

Tariq Malas

PhD Student: Co-supervisor Vladimir Bajic

tariq.malas@kaust.edu.sa

 
Takashi Gojobori group

Alyaa M Abdel-Haleem Mohamed

PhD Student (co-supervisor: Xin Gao)

Alyaa.Mohamed@KAUST.EDU.SA

 
Robert Hoehndorf group
Stefan T. Arold group
 
MSc Students
Xin Gao group
Robert Hoehndorf group
 
Stefan T. Arold group
 
Consultants
Vladimir Bajic group

Martin Senger

Senior Bioinformatics Specialist

KAUST: 2009-2013
Martin retired from KAUST, but works for CBRC as a consultant

martinsenger@gmail.com

Romina Oliva

PTSA Research/Academic Contractor

oliva@uniparthenope.it

Takashi Gojobori group
 

Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in /data/www/cbrcweb/lib/functions.php on line 363
Postdoctoral Fellows
Vladimir Bajic group

Dr Sebastian Schmeier

Home Page: http://sebscientific.org/

Lecturer in Bioinformatics/Genomics, Institute of Natural Sciences, Massey University, New Zealand

s.schmeier@massey.ac.nz

Dr Yulia A. Medvedeva

Postdoctoral Fellow

Yulia moved to Institute of Predictive and Personalized Medicine of Cancer (IMPPC), Barcelona, Spain, as a Postdoctoral Fellow

yulia.medvedeva@gmail.com

Marta Simoes

Postdoctoral Fellow

Research interest: Microbiology & microbial collections

marta.simoes@kaust.edu.sa

Xin Gao group
Dr John AC Archer group
Ph.D. Students
group

Wail Ba-alawi

PhD Student

Wail is now a Postdoctoral Fellow at Princess Margaret Cancer Centre, University Health Network Department of Medical Biophysics, University of Toronto, Canada

wail.baalawi@kaust.edu.sa

Vladimir Bajic group

Dr Cameron Ross MacPherson

Postdoctoral Fellow, Institut Pasteur, Paris, France

cameron.macpherson@pasteur.fr

Dr Marek Piatek

Marek graduated on the topic of optimization of TALEN design

marek.piatek@kaust.edu.sa

Abdullah Khamis

PhD Student: Co-supervisor Xin Gao

Abdullah was our PhD student and now is Head of Research and Development in the Institute for Strategic Studies, Riyadh.

abdullah.khamis@kaust.edu.sa

 
Xin Gao group
Dr John AC Archer group

Dr Frederick Kinyua Kamanu

PhD Student: Co-supervisor Vladimir Bajic

Tufts University, Boston, USA

frederick.kamanu@gmail.com

 
MSc Students
Vladimir Bajic group

Md. Shariful Bhuyan

PhD student, Columbia University, New York, USA

mb3647@columbia.edu

Mario Messih

PhD student at University of Sapienza, Rome, Italy

mario.messih@kaust.edu.sa

Xin Gao group
Dr John AC Archer group

Xianwei Zhang

MSc Student: Co-supervised by Vladimir Bajic

xianwei.zhang@kaust.edu.sa

Luis Siller Rodriguez

MSc Student, Co-Supervised by V Bajic

luis.sillerrodriguez@kaust.edu.sa

Patricio Luque Alanis

Co-Supervised by V Bajic, now in ARAMCO

patricio.alanis@kaust.edu.sa

 
Takashi Gojobori group
 
Arnab Pain group
 
Timothy Ravasi group

Yara Alzahid

MSc Student

Former Faculty

Victor Solovyev

Professor, Computer Science

Dr. Solovyev research interests are in developing statistical approaches, machine learning algorithms, computational platforms and bioinformatics tools for high-throughput biological big data analysis and high-performance cloud computing servers to support next-generation sequencing, genome assembling, genome alignments, modeling genetic networks to gain insights into the static and dynamic behavior of complex biological systems.
More information on Research and Bioinformatics tools at http://www.molquest.kaust.edu.sa

victor.soloviev@kaust.edu.sa

Arnab Pain

Associate Professor of Bioscience

arnab.pain@kaust.edu.sa

Timothy Ravasi

Associate Professor of Bioscience

timothy.ravasi@kaust.edu.sa

 
Former Research Scientists

Dr Mandeep Kaur

Senior Research Scientist

High-throughput screening, cell death mechanisms, biomarker discovery, drug development, pathway biology.

mandeep.kaur@kaust.edu.sa

Dr Sunil Sagar

Research Scientist

Natural products, drug screening, medicinal chemistry, chemoinformatics.

sunil.sagar@kaust.edu.sa

Dr Abdallah Musa Abdallah

Research Scientist (supervisor Arnab Pain)

abdallah.abdallah@kaust.edu.sa

Dr. Carlo Vittorio Cannistraci

Research Scientist

Carlo took an appointment as Head of the Biomedical Cybernetics Group, Technische Universität Dresden.

kalokagathos.agon@gmail.com

Dr. Heikki Lehvaslaiho

Associate Research Scientist

2009 - 2013

heikki.lehvaslaiho@kaust.edu.sa

Dr Taewoo Ryu

Research Scientist (supervisor Timothy Ravasi)

taewoo.ryu@kaust.edu.sa

Dr Yong Ho Woo

Research Scientist (supervisor Arnab Pain)

yong.woo@kaust.edu.sa

Former Professional Staff

Dr. Ulf Schaefer

Scientifc Software Specialist

2009 - 2013

ulf.schaefer@kaust.edu.sa

Emily Giles

Research Technician (supervisor Timothy Ravasi)

emily.giles@kaust.edu.sa

George Marselis

Senior System Administrator

2010 - 2013

george.marselis@kaust.edu.sa

Irina Soloviev

PTSA - Research Specialist (supervisor Vladimir Bajic)

irina.soloviev@kaust.edu.sa

Marija Kupresanin

Research Technician (supervisor Timothy Ravasi)

marija.Kupresanin@kaust.edu.sa

Minna Lehvaslaiho

Bioinformatician/curator

2009-2012

minna.lehvaslaiho@kaust.edu.sa

Sabir Adroub

Research Technician (supervisor Arnab Pain)

sabir.adroub@kaust.edu.sa

Vladimir Bajic group

Andre Antunes

PTSA Research/Academic Contractor

Andre is specialist for microbial extremophiles

andre.antunes@kaust.edu.sa

 
Xin Gao group
 
Takashi Gojobori group
 
Stefan T. Arold group
 
Former Administration

Hamimah Supian

Center Manager

Hamimah moved to KAUST CEMSE Division to position of Senior Business Manager.

hamimah.supian@kaust.edu.sa

Margaret Knight

Executive Secretary

2009-2012

margaret.knight@kaust.edu.sa

 
Dr John AC Archer group
 
Takashi Gojobori group